New album out now! PS: support musicians, buy their music.

"Chamber Music by Marco Pereira" 

Marius is a Norwegian guitarist with a profound passion for Brazilian music. He has dedicated many years of his life to exploring the music from South America. His musical journey has taken him through various forms of ensemble playing, ranging from duets, trios, quartets to larger ensembles, and it has been a fascinating exploration of the intersection between Norwegian and Brazilian culture.

During a concert with Marco Pereira at the legendary Rio Scenarium in 2007, Marius experienced the irresistible power of music, realizing how it could forge a connection between the performer and the audience. This moment marked the beginning of a long-lasting fascination with Pereira, a prominent Brazilian musician and composer with a unique gift for making people feel that the music was created especially for them. Later, Marius had the opportunity to meet Pereira in person, and this meeting marked the start of a significant musical journey.

Marco Pereira has served as a mentor and guide for Marius over the years since their first encounter. Pereira generously shared his extensive knowledge and valuable experiences, providing guidance and dedicating much of his time to assist Marius in deepening his understanding of Brazilian music.

In 2019, Marius was awarded a three-year work grant from Statens Kunstnerstipend (Norwegian Government Grants for Artists) to immerse himself in Pereira's music. The project consists of three album recordings, with each album rooted in the music of Marco Pereira:

  • Album 1 - Original compositions for solo guitar (2019)
  • Album 2 - Arrangements for the guitar primarily featuring Brazilian music (2021)
  • Album 3 - The album now being released, containing ten compositions by Pereira performed by various chamber music ensembles.

For this, the third and final album, Gundersen has assembled an impressive team of musicians: 

  • Tora Augestad - vocals
  • Mia Virik Kristensen (MIIA) - vocals
  • Trond Magne Brekka - flute
  • Maiken Mathisen Schau - flute
  • Margrete Christensen Klavenæs - bassoon
  • Frida Fredrikke Waaler Wærvågen - cello
  • Oslo Strings - string ensemble
  • Karl Erik Horndalsveen - bass
  • Dag Einar Eilertsen - alto trombone
  • Randall Avers - guitar
  • Runar Kjeldsberg - guitar
  • Gjermund Titlestad - guitar

These talented musicians, with their musical passion, have contributed to making this album one of the most significant projects in Marius' career.

Marius aims to share this music with the world and spread Pereira's musical legacy across borders. This album represents more than just a musical achievement; it is a heartfelt expression of gratitude and a deep love for Brazilian music. It the symbolizes a strong friendship between Marius Noss Gundersen and Marco Pereira, and their musical bond that will last a lifetime.

PS: support musicians, buy their music.

"Arrangements for guitar" 

Among the very finest arrangers, composers and performers of classical guitar in the world today we find Marco Pereira. Pereira is an internationally renowned Brazilian composer, arranger, guitarist, and university professor. As a composer and arranger he is strongly influenced by musical traditions from Brazil, Latin America and jazz. 

Pereira has received awards in important international competitions such as Concurso Andrés Segóvia and Concurso Francisco Tárrega. In 1993, he won the Sharp prize for Best Popular Music Arranger for his work on Gal Costa's «Gal». He has recorded with many prominent artists in Brazil, such as Antonio Carlos Jobim, Edu Lobo, Gilberto Gil, Paulinho da Viola and Milton Nascimento. He has also performed and toured with internationally renowned musicians like Baden Powell, Vicente Amigo, Hamilton de Holanda and Ralph Towner - to mention a few. 

Pereira's ability to reconceptualise any piece of music is second to none. His work displays a rich variety that brings out the best each composition has to offer. With perfect control over texture and timbre, his arrangements are executed so masterfully that they appear to be original compositions for the instrument.

"Solo Guitar Works" 

Marius Noss Gundersen has composed music for solo guitar to some of the most prominent classical guitarists in Norway. On his new album 5 guitarists have recorded their pieces. Christina Sandsengen, Randall Avers, Gjermund Titlestad, Thomas Kjekstad and Sven Lundestad. 

Marius has specialized on composing for classical guitar and his music has been played and recorded on numerous occasions. His musical style spans from melodic and tonal to more experimental language, although he leans towards the more melodic influences. Both Brazilian and Norwegian music, classical forms and some clearly modern ideas inspire the music on this album. 


Seasons, composed for Christina Sandsengen: a suite in 4 movements that reflect the four seasons. The music is inspired by Norwegian folk music. SPRING is a little dance, SUMMER reflects lazy days by the sea, AUTUMN is rich in colours with falling leaves and WINTER begins with a clear Norwegian landscape where the snowy weather becomes more and more intense.

Musical Evolution, composed for Randall Avers: a set of variations on an original theme by Marius. Each variation is inspired by an era in music history: the Renaissance, the Baroque, Classic, Romantic, Impressionism, Modernism, Blues and Jazz.

Preludes, composed for Gjermund Titlestad: 5 preludes with a nod to composers like Heitor Villa-Lobos and Augustin Barrios Mangore

Lament, composed for Thomas Kjekstad: composed after Trump won the election in 2016. Musically, the piece reflects my frustration and shocking reaction to what was happening around the world at this time, a lament.

Sonata - Echoes of Brazil, composed for Sven Lundestad: sonata in 4 movements where each movement is a musical reflection of places I have visited in Brazil. Musically, it is inspired by genres such as Samba, Bossa Nova, Choro, etc.

Join our mailing list for the latest news

Get sheet music for December Moods for signing up to my mailing list

Welcome to my world!

If you want to listen to some music while surfing these pages, click the play button down in the left corner.

Here you'll find my music, my recordings and, hopefully all you need to know about me as a musician.

Glad you’re here, and if there’s anything you wonder about please feel free to contact me.